Maccabi men’s team captures 64 team TSSL CUP

Maccabi won its second straight TSSL Cup with a 2-0 win on a cold November night. Winning a 64 team tournament like the TSSL Cup requires a tremendous amount of consistency.

With 9 former Maccabi Canada players in the line up (including Erik Waisman, Gil Vainshtein, Cuneyt Gulerce, Jason Mausberg, Dan Frankel, Yair Rabinovitch, Ilan Friedman, Zach Stemmer) the team played a solid defensive game with Zach Stemmer and Alex Razimor scoring the goals.

It was a very hard fought game for the aging Maccabi team, who took the field with an average age of 36 compared to their opponents who looked to be at least 10 years younger.

This is the 29th trophy won by the Maccabi men’s team in the last 9 years which is an incredible feat. But if you ask any of the players their most special accomplishment in the last 9 years was winning the bronze medal in Jerusalem in 2013, at the 19th Maccabiah Games.